Bargain Books

Established in 1998, Bargain Books is South Africa’s leading discount book retailer with 80 stores in all 9 provinces. Our mission is to provide our customers with quality and innovative products, value for money and excellent service. Bargain Books is proud to have won SA Bookseller of the year 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2017. We are the leaders in Afrikaans, Children’s and Mass Market fiction in SA. We have an extensive product offering, many exclusive to Bargain Books and also publish Afrikaans Children’s Books.

Reserve your copy now!

Fill in the form below to reserve these books at your nearest store.








Our Weekly Top Ten Reads

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck

Author: Mark Manson

About the book:

In this generation-defining self-help guide, a superstar blogger cuts through the crap to show us how to stop trying to be “positive” all the time so that we can truly become better, happier people.

ISBN: 9780062641540

Price: R300

 

Born a Crime

Author: Trevor Noah

 About the book:

The compelling, inspiring, and comically sublime New York Times bestseller about one man’s coming-of-age, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed.

ISBN: 9781770105379

Price: R175

 

491 Days

Author: Winnie Madikizela-Mandela

About the book:

On a freezing winter’s night, a few hours before dawn on 12 May 1969, security police stormed the Soweto home of Winnie Mandela and detained her in the presence of her two young daughters, then aged eight and ten. Rounded up in a group of other anti-apartheid activists under Section 6 of the Terrorism Act, designed for the security police to hold and interrogate people for as long as they wanted, she was taken away. This was the start for Winnie Mandela of a 491-day period of detention and two trials. Forty-one years after her release on 14 September 1970, Greta Soggot, the widow of David Soggot, one of Winnie Mandela’s advocates during the 1969/1970 trials, handed her a stack of papers that included a journal and notes that she had written in detention. 491 Days: Prisoner number 1323/69 shares with the world Winnie Mandela’s moving and compelling journal as well as some of the letters written between affected parties at the time. Readers gain insight into the brutality she experienced, her depths of despair as well as her resilience and defiance under extreme pressure.

ISBN: 9781770105638

Price: R180

 

My Children! My Africa!

Author: Nyembezi

About the book:

Generational conflict over the most effective means for ending apartheid in South Africa lead to an explosive confrontation between a gifted but impatient black township youth and his devoted but “old fashioned” black teacher… The unexpected involvement of a young white woman who befriends and learns from both men strips away the political trappings to reveal the human trauma at the heart of South Africa’s… tragedy

ISBN: 9780636186934

Price: R50

 

Still Me

Author: Jojo Moyes

About the book:

ISBN: 9780718183196

Price: R269

 

The President's Keepers

Author: Jacques Pauw

About the book:

Investigative journalist Jacques Pauw exposes the darkest secret at the heart of Jacob Zuma’s compromised government: a cancerous cabal that eliminates the president’s enemies and purges the law-enforcement agencies of good men and women.

ISBN: 9780624083030

Price: R285

The Land is Ours

Author: Tembeka Ngcukaitobi

About the book:

The Land Is Ours  tells the story of South Africa’s first black lawyers, who operated in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In an age of aggressive colonial expansion, land dispossession and forced labour, these men believed in a constitutional system that respected individual rights and freedoms, and they used the law as an instrument against injustice.

ISBN: 9781776092857

Price: R280

 

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Author: Heather Morris

About the Book:

For readers of Schindler’s List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival – scratching numbers into his fellow victims’ arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale – a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer – it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.

ISBN: 9781785763656

Price: R270

 

5 Ingredients - Quick & Easy Food

Author: Jamie Oliver

About the book:

Cooking doesn’t have to be complicated – that’s why Jamie’s 5 Ingredients – Quick & Easy Food  is sure to become your new best friend in the kitchen. It’s all about making the journey to good food, super-simple. Every recipe uses just five key ingredients, ensuring you can get a plate of food together fast, whether it’s finished and on the table super-quickly, or after minimal hands-on prep, you’ve let the oven do the hard work for you. We’re talking quality over quantity, a little diligence on the cooking front, and in return massive flavour.

This is Jamie’s easiest-to-use book yet, and the perfect cookbook for busy people.

ISBN: 9780718187729

Price: R430

 

The Masterpiece

Author: Francine Rivers

New York Times bestselling author Francine Rivers returns to her romance roots with this unexpected and redemptive love story, a probing tale that reminds us that mercy can shape even the most broken among us into an imperfect yet stunning masterpiece.

ISBN: 9781496430601

Price: R269

 

With over 80 stores nationwide

Find a store near you