Bargain Books

Established in 1998, Bargain Books is South Africa’s leading discount book retailer with 80 stores in all 9 provinces. Our mission is to provide our customers with quality and innovative products, value for money and excellent service. Bargain Books is proud to have won SA Bookseller of the year 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2017. We are the leaders in Afrikaans, Children’s and Mass Market fiction in SA. We have an extensive product offering, many exclusive to Bargain Books and also publish Afrikaans Children’s Books.

Reserve your copy now!

Fill in the form below to reserve these books at your nearest store.

Our Weekly Top Ten Reads

The Land is Ours

Author: Tembeka Nqcukaitobi

 About the book:

The Land Is Ours  tells the story of South Africa’s first black lawyers, who operated in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In an age of aggressive colonial expansion, land dispossession and forced labour, these men believed in a constitutional system that respected individual rights and freedoms, and they used the law as an instrument against injustice.
The book follows the lives, ideas and careers of Henry Sylvester Williams, Alfred Mangena, Richard Msimang, Pixley ka Isaka Seme, Ngcubu Poswayo and George Montsioa, who were all members of the ANC. It analyses the legal cases they took on, explores how they reconciled the law with the political upheavals of the day, and considers how they sustained their fidelity to the law when legal victories were undermined by politics.
The Land Is Ours  shows that these lawyers developed the concept of a Bill of Rights, which is now an international norm. The book is particularly relevant in light of current calls to scrap the Constitution and its protections of individual rights: it clearly demonstrates that, from the beginning, the struggle for freedom was based on the idea of the rule of law.


ISBN: 9781776092857

Price: R280


President's Keepers

Author: Jacques Pauw

About the book:

Investigative journalist Jacques Pauw exposes the darkest secret at the heart of Jacob Zuma’s compromised government: a cancerous cabal that eliminates the president’s enemies and purges the law-enforcement agencies of good men and women. As Zuma fights for his political life following the 2017 Gupta emails leak, this cabal – the president’s keepers – ensures that after years of ruinous rule, he remains in power and out of prison. But is Zuma the puppet master, or their puppet?

Journey with Pauw as he explores the shadow mafia state. From KwaZulu-Natal and the Western Cape to the corridors of power in Pretoria and Johannesburg – and even to clandestine meetings in Russia. It’s a trail of lies and spies, cronies, cash and kingmakers as Pauw prises open the web of deceit that surrounds the fourth president of the democratic era.

ISBN: 9780624083030

Price: R199


Born a Crime

Author: Trevor Noah

About the book:

Trevor Noah’s path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show in New York began with a criminal act: his birth. Trevor was born to a white Swiss father and a black Xhosa mother at a time when such a union was punishable by five years in prison.

Born a Crime is the story of a mischievous young boy who grows into a restless young man as he struggles to find himself in a world where he was never supposed to exist. It is also the story of his relationship with his fearless, rebellious and fervently religious mother – his teammate, a woman determined to save her son from the cycle of poverty, violence and abuse that would ultimately threaten her own life.

The eighteen personal essays collected here are by turns hilarious, dramatic and deeply affecting. Whether being thrown from a moving car during an attempted kidnapping or simply trying to survive the life-and-death pitfalls of dating in high school, Trevor illuminates his world with an incisive wit and an unflinching honesty.

ISBN: 9781770105379

Price: R175

Still Me

Author: Jojo Moyes

About the book:

ISBN: 9780718183196

Price: R269


The Masterpiece

Author: Francine Rivers

New York Times bestselling author Francine Rivers returns to her romance roots with this unexpected and redemptive love story, a probing tale that reminds us that mercy can shape even the most broken among us into an imperfect yet stunning masterpiece.

A successful LA artist, Roman Velasco appears to have everything he could possibly want – money, women, fame. Only Grace Moore, his reluctant, newly hired personal assistant, knows how little he truly has. The demons of Roman’s past seem to echo through the halls of his empty mansion and out across his breathtaking Topanga Canyon view. But Grace doesn’t know how her boss secretly wrestles with those demons: by tagging buildings as the Bird, a notorious but unidentified graffiti artist – an alter ego that could destroy his career and land him in prison.

Like Roman, Grace is wrestling with ghosts and secrets of her own. After a disastrous marriage threw her life completely off course, she vowed never to let love steal her dreams again. But as she gets to know the enigmatic man behind the reputation, it’s as if the jagged pieces of both of their pasts slowly begin to fit together … until something so unexpected happens that it changes the course of their relationship – and both their lives – forever.

ISBN: 9781496430601

Price: R269



Author: Francine Rivers

About the book:

Roman Velasco is ‘n suksesvolle Los Angeles-kunstenaar wat oënskynlik alles het wat sy hart begeer – ʼn groot herehuis, geld, vroue en roem. Slegs Grace Moore, sy teësinnige nuwe assistent, weet hoe min hy regtig het.

Maar Grace weet nie hoe haar baas in die geheim met sy duiwels stoei nie: deur geboue te teiken as die Bird, ‘n berugte maar ongeïdentifiseerde graffiti-kunstenaar – ‘n alter ego wat Roman se loopbaan kan verwoes en hom in die tronk kan laat beland.
Soos Roman, worstel Grace ook met spoke en geheime van haar eie. Ná ‘n rampspoedige huwelik haar lewe totaal van koers afgegooi het, het sy gesweer dat liefde nooit weer haar drome sal kniehalter nie. Maar soos sy die enigmatiese man agter die reputasie leer ken, is dit asof hulle gebroke stukke stadig inmekaar begin pas … totdat iets onverwags gebeur wat die loop van hulle verhouding – en albei se lewe – onherroeplik onherroeplik

Die meesterstuk is ʼn splinternuwe liefdesverhaal deur bekroonde New York Times-topverkoper-outeur Francine Rivers wat jou herinner dat genade selfs die mees gebroke persoon in ‘n onvolmaakte tog ongelooflike meesterstuk kan verander.

ISBN: 9781431617401

Price: R269


The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life

Author: Mark Manson

About the book:

In this generation-defining self-help guide, a superstar blogger cuts through the crap to show us how to stop trying to be positive all the time so that we can truly become better, happier people. For decades, we’ve been told that positive thinking is the key to a happy, rich life. F**k positivity, Mark Manson says. Let’s be honest, shit is f**ked and we have to live with it. In his wildly popular Internet blog, Manson doesn’t sugarcoat or equivocate. He tells it like it is-a dose of raw, refreshing, honest truth that is sorely lacking today.

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F**k is his antidote to the coddling, let’s-all-feel-good mindset that has infected modern society and spoiled a generation, rewarding them with gold medals just for showing up. Manson makes the argument, backed both by academic research and well-timed poop jokes, that improving our lives hinges not on our ability to turn lemons into lemonade, but on learning to stomach lemons better. Human beings are flawed and limited- not everybody can be extraordinary, there are winners and losers in society, and some of it is not fair or your fault. Manson advises us to get to know our limitations and accept them. Once we embrace our fears, faults, and uncertainties, once we stop running and avoiding and start confronting painful truths, we can begin to find the courage, perseverance, honesty, responsibility, curiosity, and forgiveness we seek. There are only so many things we can give a f**k about so we need to figure out which ones really matter, Manson makes clear. While money is nice, caring about what you do with your life is better, because true wealth is about experience.

A much-needed grab-you-by-the-shoulders-and-look-you-in-the-eye moment of real-talk, filled with entertaining stories and profane, ruthless humor, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F**k is a refreshing slap for a generation to help them lead contented, grounded lives.

ISBN: 9780062641540

Price: R300


5 Ingredients - Quick & Easy Food

Author: Jamie Oliver

About the book:

Cooking doesn’t have to be complicated – that’s why Jamie’s 5 Ingredients – Quick & Easy Food is sure to become your new best friend in the kitchen.

It’s all about making the journey to good food, super-simple. Every recipe uses just five key ingredients, ensuring you can get a plate of food together fast, whether it’s finished and on the table super-quickly, or after minimal hands-on prep, you’ve let the oven do the hard work for you. We’re talking quality over quantity, a little diligence on the cooking front, and in return massive flavour. Each recipe has been tried and tested (and tested again!) to ensure the book is packed with no-fuss, budget-friendly dishes that you can rustle up, any day of the week.

With over 130 recipes, and chapters on Chicken, Beef, Pork, Lamb, Fish, Eggs, Veg, Salads, Pasta, Rice & Noodles and Sweet Things, there’s plenty of quick and easy recipe inspiration to choose from. Think Roast tikka chicken – a whole bird rubbed with curry paste and roasted over golden potatoes and tender cauliflower, finished with fresh coriander. Or, Crazy simple fish pie – flaky smoked haddock, spring onions, spinach and melty Cheddar, all topped off with crisp, golden filo, and ready to tuck into in less than 30 minutes. With every recipe you’ll find a visual ingredient guide, serving size, timings, a short, easy-to-follow method, and quick-reference nutritional information.

This is Jamie’s easiest-to-use book yet, and the perfect cookbook for busy people

ISBN: 9780718187729

Price: R430


My Children, My Africa

Author: Athol Fugard

About the book:

The great South African playwright confronts the tragedy of apartheid in his native land in this compelling tale about the efforts of a humble and humane black teacher in a segregated township to persuade just one young person that education, not violence, is the answer to South Africa’s problems.

ISBN: 9780636186934

Price: R50


The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Author: Heather Morris

About the Book:

For readers of Schindler’s List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival – scratching numbers into his fellow victims’ arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale – a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer – it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.

ISBN: 9781785763656

Price: R270


With over 80 stores nationwide

Find a store near you